24
Sep
08

[Review] Queen’s Gate – The Gate Opener Alice

Yay, I finally have a full Alice to play around with! She is one of few figures in my collection in which I had no hesitation preordering off the bat, and having her in my hands now, she doesn’t disappoint (except for an initial manufacturer’s mistake which you can read about at the end of this post). This be the opener of the Queen’s Gate, Alice!

 

 

 

 

 

Alice was the first character introduced for Hobby Japan’s cross-dimensional spin-off series to their Queen’s Blade “fighting game with books,” known as Queen’s Gate. I think the official story goes that Alice is a treasure hunter in…”our world” I guess (?), and she went traipsing around the world to seek the legendary Queen’s Gate as her ultimate bounty. Eventually she finds it and of course ends up opening it, thus her nickname, “Gate Opener Alice.” Upon opening the gate, it opened up the pathway leading into the Queen’s Blade universe, which has been thrust into chaos by the current Queen’s Blade competitors fighting it out across their land. I guess others either found their way towards the gate or were “chosen” to get transported, and thus we have Nijihara Ink, Iroha, and Shiranui Mai as the current roster in the Queen’s Gate lineup.

I’m not sure if this is entirely correct since I read it awhile ago and am just typing out what I remember from memory. Either way, it’s an excuse to see our favorite characters battling and getting stripped down to their pantsu. ^^

 

Excellent Model Core Queen’s Gate -Gate Opener Alice-
Maker: Alpha X Omega (which, if anybody didn’t know, is a joint outfit between Alter and Megahouse)
Sculptor: Akatsuki (Alter)
Scale: 1/8 (about 6 inches high)
Release: Late Aug. 2008
Character created by: Niθ

 

First off, this figure is based off of two illustrations found in Alice’s Queen’s Gate book, illustrated by Niθ:


from the front and back…

The sculptor did a fairly incredible job in translating from 2d to 3d. Not many sculpted figures come close to their original illustrations (still lookin great though), but this one comes pretty close. One thing I didn’t like at first is that if you look at her mouth from a low angle, she looks like a shark. That’s the first thought that came to my mind. A shark. It’s because the space on her face from her nose down to her chin is all one slope with her mouth cut into it. If you look at a picture of a shark you’d probably get what I mean lol. Being this way, it looks like her upper lip is extended way out over her lower lip, which looks quite weird. However, once I started taking pictures from slightly upper angles, her mouth was so damn cute and perfect. Check out some of the pics below to see for yourself.

 

Tried a different color for the background this time. Maybe I should have chosen a different color lol. Thought it might’ve gone well with her slightly greenish/bluish tint of hair, but it didn’t quite come out as nice as I imagined.

Anyway I had a bit of fun shooting pics of her, 1) because I ditched the tripod this time around, which was a lot of work to adjust for different pics I wanted to take and was pretty tiring for me (unfortunately this also meant I shot with a wider aperture, resulting in some shallow dof in some pics), and 2) She is just so damn supremely alluring to photograph. She’s got such a sultry pose for … a character of her stature and she’s not shy to show off some of her goods. Her tail is wrapped around her leg in such a teasing way and it makes me think of like a dominatrix who licks her whip before gettin down to business lol.

Oh and also, she doesn’t mind a little half wedgie.

 

Her outfit from her head accessories down to her boots are all nicely made. Her top is quite…open in the position she’s in. One peek in and you can see most of her cute little loli-ppai. I’ve got to display her on my shelf facing a little off to the side, just enough so that her arm covers the opening of her top when viewing straight on. This also shows off a bit of her butt cheek, which is always nice. What good is having such a cute behind without showing some of it off, right? Where I’m seated on my desk though I can see down her top, but that’s ok cuz I don’t mind. It’s others that I worry about lol.

 

I love the detail on the guns, gloves, and hand sculpting. The guns are a bit hard to place properly in her hands, but there are holes where the trigger fingers go, and once you wiggle the gun into place, her fingers actually go through the trigger hole and they fit so perfectly. I don’t have any other figures like that, and seeing that is just amazing. I just hope all that wiggling didn’t leave some paint scratches somewhere -_-. The pictures I took make it kinda hard to see the dark blue of the gun in her right hand, but there is some nice stencil work on both guns. The watch on her wrist is nicely done too. The watch face is just about a little under 2mm wide.

 

mmm….no comment…

 

This is my original Alice with missing tail (read the story below). I used her for the cast-off photos because I already had a tough time clasping my second Alice’s top together that I didn’t want to undo it. Her top is actually kind of tough to take off and put on. It clasps together on her left side via two pegs, but it’s so tightly sculpted to fit her body, it takes a bit of work to squeeze the two pieces together. On the other side, her hair is very close to her body, so taking her top off requires a bit of maneuvering as well. I left some slight scuffmarks from taking her top off and putting it back on a couple times on the second figure before taking pics. :( But when it’s off…you are treated to a view of loli-ppai.

Also, you can see there the ugly stump that’s left behind when the tail is detached…

 

I guess this makes my second pair of twin figures. They look cute sittin together like that :P
And a little bit of cheek docking is never a bad thing…

 

I very much like this figure. That’s all.

 

Ok so now it’s storytime. When I first received Alice, she came with a major flub: her tail was missing in the package. The tail is a pretty major part and without it, there’s nothing but an ugly stump sticking out of her lower back. I guess it’s ok if you display her in just the right way so that her front half is covering up her backside, but I don’t, because if you display her head on, you can see her loli lady bits and modesty is something young loli ladies should observe. Anyway, I was totally bummed about this.


This is an image I took and put together and posted on dannychoo. The lower right image is taken from foobarbaz‘s own review of Alice.

The tail itself is supposed to come pre-attached, and the stump has a hole that is meant to hold a peg on the connecting part of the tail. The first thing I did of course was to look in the box to see if maybe it dropped out of the package while I was taking her out. Nothing there. Next was to check the floor all around the area where I opened her up. Nope. After a few minutes of searching, I came to the conclusion that I just came face to face with a manufacturer’s fib. My first email was to the store I got it from (Play-Asia) to see if they could do anything about it. Unfortunately, two e-mails later, I was getting nowhere (they were telling me to check to make sure I didn’t drop it even though I mentioned I’d already searched thoroughly). So next I decided to shoot off an e-mail directly to the source, Alpha x Omega/Alter.

I wrote to them and explained my situation (in as best japanese as I could manage). I wasn’t really expecting anything to happen, but I thought I’d give it a try anyway. I asked if perhaps they could send me the tail part that I was missing. To my surprise, they responded quickly and said they’d send me the missing part. I received a package one week later, and it was directly from Alter’s offices. Big surprise when I opened it up. It was an entire figure of Alice! My first thought upon seeing that was literally, “oh my god, I love you guys” in an “awww” kind of way if you know what I mean lol. The figure I received was marked as a “toy sample” on the shipping label, and this was evident from the fact that there was no hologram sticker of any sort that denotes an “official” product, as there is on my “retail” version of Alice.

So now…I have two Alice’s. One fully completed, and one with a missing tail, which is what you see in the pictures above. Not sure what I want to do with my second Alice. I’ve already re-packaged her up after shooting the photos. When I get more space I might unbox her again to display her next to full Alice or somewhere else perhaps. I want to give a big thank you from the bottom of my heart to Alter for obliging my request, despite the fact that I told them I was overseas and that all I was missing was her tail. You are awesome. Awesome to the max.

Can’t wait for some of Alter’s future releases!


9 Responses to “[Review] Queen’s Gate – The Gate Opener Alice”


  1. September 24, 2008 at 4:48 am

    Its nice to hear that Alter is a company that actually cares about their customers.

    SoQueens Gate is a crossover eh?Just learned a new thing…Im baffled that shiranui mai has an appearance.I definately have to take a closer look at this.

    So Alice is supposed to be human?Did her tail grow on the other site???
    Anyway Loli Treasure hunters that get sucked into another dimension rule!

    I like your pics even tough the background isnt that good

  2. September 24, 2008 at 4:57 am

    Hmm good question about the tail. I’ve always wondered that. I don’t know her full background, but she’s also shown to be able to grow into an adult in an instant for short periods of time; her “boosted” form (which also has a figure coming out, but Hobby Japan mail in exclusive. However, there are some sites that happen to have her available for preorder). In that form, she uses the tail as a whip weapon, while also using her guns iirc. Maybe her “tail” is part of her arsenal that she acquired as a result of treasure hunting?

    And yea the background does suck -_- A more minty green would have been much more nice, or classic black as well.

  3. 3 Dancing Queen
    September 24, 2008 at 10:34 am

    that’s amazing how Alter themselves sent you a new Alice, oh and that’s another strike against play-asia for me. they don’t have any real concept of customer service. But now i’m double jealous since you tech. have two alices. oh and cheek docking is cute

  4. 4 vixion
    September 24, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    congratulation :D

    it is easier to sent a new one than just her tail :D lol

    alter rules now i should hope they forget to put the weapon part of my excelica lol

  5. 5 zerofigures
    September 24, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    WOW, now that is what I call customer service. I bought a set of Gantz gashapon from HLJ and one figure was missing a leg, I emailed them and they handled it promptly. But damn, sending the whole figure again? Thats pretty sweet. Congrats and good review.

  6. September 24, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    >>Dancing Queen
    ya P-A does some things right, and some things wrong. They’ve been great on some occassions with customer service, while on others they’ve not been the best, though I’ve had slightly more good than bad experiences with them. The way they handle preorder pricing + estimated shipping for example is completely ridiculous imo. That’s where most of my problems stem from lol. Other than that they’ve been quite professional mostly. I think the main problem this time around was most likely because Alice was such a popular figure that she was sold out practically everywhere, so even if they wanted to help me, they probably couldn’t have.

    >>vixion
    haha that would be huge! Though I hope nobody takes advantage of them by falsely asking them for “replacements,” because they are great people and a great company.

    >>zerofigures
    nice! Yea it’s great when customer service comes through lol. That’s cool that the store took care of it for you. I got a trading figure with two left arms before, but I never thought to try to get it fixed. I just slap them both on and call her “special” lol.

  7. September 25, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    got mine too, one of the best figurine for this year for sure :) and you lucky bastard have 2 of this lovely figurine! XD

    I should try calling Alter too haha :D

  8. 8 tito
    August 20, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo the sold out lovely figurine

  9. 9 http://andcarinsurancequotes.com
    March 20, 2012 at 1:08 am

    I conceive this site has some really good information for everyone :D.


Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

