07
Feb
08

[Review] My Mirei Sensei~

Ooooooh I finally got my first 1/7 figure, and I must say, what a total beaut! This is Mirei, and she is mine. There are many others like her, but this one is mine! I’ve come across many a figure collector that have Mirei somewhere in their collection, as if it’s some kind of mandatory initiation into figure collecting. Like popping the cherry so to speak. Well…I’m happy to say that I’ve finally popped my cherry too!

UPDATE 3/01/2008:
She’s back in stock at Play-Asia!

 

 

 

Mirei is designed by Yamashita Shunya and sculpted by Otoyama Houjun. This red outfit black hair combination I think was some kind of special limited edition that was sold at Hong Kong Comic Fair 2007. The box it came with has english all over it though, and actually has the name and logo of a distributor in America so um…maybe this is an american version and not so limited after all? I got it from Play-Asia though and they ship out of Hong Kong, so….I don’t really know. Oh well haha!

I wasn’t too hot on the red at first in pictures, but really loved the black hair over the other versions of Mirei as a brunette and a blonde. When I finally laid my eyes on her in person though, the red really looked great and went really well with the black of her bra and hair. She’s sitting here next to me by the computer right now, and every time I look at her I can’t look away for more than a few seconds lol. She comes with two styles of back hair (tied up or hanging down), and an arm replacement for letting her hand rest on her leg. Didn’t take any pics of her arm on her leg cuz I tried briefly to get her current arm off (holding the pen), but couldn’t get it to budge. Probably have to use a bit more force like I had to with the hair, but I didn’t want my nails to scratch up the paint or anything… I’ll try again some other time.

First thing that came to my mind when I opened up the shipping box…”damn she’s pretty big!” My only other figures are a bunch of 4-5″ or so trading figures, and a ~7″ tall Kotobukiya 1/8 scale summertime Asuka figure that I found recently while cleaning up the living space (acquired her years and years ago and totally forgot about her). Mirei while sitting is just about as tall as Asuka while she’s standing on steps, and one of Mirei’s thighs is just about the same width as Asuka’s waist! Kinda surprised at the difference in scale, but then smiled cuz that’s just more Mirei to admire. She’s got quite a bit of weight to her, and feels and looks much more of quality than the Asuka figure.

So um….as you’ll see in the following pics, I clearly have absolutely no idea what I’m doing with the camera. These aren’t the best pics, and they don’t nearly show off the true beauty of Mirei. I tried to go for a late at work type lighting effect at first but I’m not so sure it turned out well… Enjoy anyway! lol

 


I think she’s supposed to be an OL, but I’d like to think of her as a super sexy sensei :o~


in the middle of changing hairstyles lol. Took me awhile to realize that you could take her head off. I was afraid of breaking her ><


She came with her hairstyle down, but I prefer hair up


Love this angle of her!

Quick walkthrough of Mirei:

pretty emerald eyes


awesome bust


beautiful, smooth legs…except for that seam right down the middle…


 

Besides the seam down the middle of her leg (there’s one on her right leg too, but not quite as pronounced), the figure is pretty solidly made. The paint is well done, borders don’t bleed into each other (like the bra against the skin), and I’m actually surprised at how nice the chair looks lol. While I was taking the plastic wrap off though, a tiny bit of some kind of plastic residue that looks a bit like cellophane got stuck on some parts (mostly top of her right knee and a bit on the corner of the chair seat), so some parts of her when hit at the right angle with light are a bit more shiny. I dunno how to get it off and I don’t want to rub off the paint or anything, so I haven’t tried to remove it. It’s nothing that’d really annoy me though.

Other than that, I’m really digging her, and can’t wait to get some other quality 1/7 and up figures!

 

Oh yea…I’ve wanted to try this out ever since I figured out how to create the effect through images, though not many people seem to be able to see it (or so it seems, judging from all the people I’ve shown stereo images to). I learned to see these on those 3d Magic Eye books, since it’s the exact same effect. For the longest time I was never able to see anything using the techniques that were popular (get your face real close then slowly move away), but then my friend told me a simple technique and I was able to see within seconds. The way I was told is to just slowly cross my eyes, and when you cross them to a certain point while looking at the image, your brain will automatically take over and adjust the eyes and image for you to create the 3D effect. It’s a bit easier to see with defined images like the one below than it is for the 3D Magic Eye stuff with the field of scrambled colors. It’s a really neat effect once you figure out how to do it! For those who can already do it, enjoy!

 

 


6 Responses to “[Review] My Mirei Sensei~”


  1. February 7, 2008 at 5:54 am

    Some nice photos there, though the head on the knee did scare me lol
    This red version does have it’s sexy factor that the black one doesn’t have imo, red is so…lustful~

    I for one, haven’t popped the proverbial cherry, I don’t own any of Shunya’s figures yet~

  2. February 7, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    I have the brunette version.. now you’re making me wanna get this HK special edition as well.. haha.. she’s gorgeous! I like the red dress + black bra + black hair combination.. very suit the taste of chinese.. haha 🙂

  3. December 17, 2009 at 9:05 am

    в конце концов: спасибо..

  4. 4 3DS
    August 15, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    Your 3D effect works. Good job.


Leave a Reply

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Categories


