16
Mar
08

[Figures] The three faces of Horo

Horo Horo Horo~ Who doesn’t love Horo? Following Ookami to Koushinryou’s (Spice and Wolf) animefication, I think many many people have taken quite a liking to her to warrant a figure-ization of the character. So here now we have three makers, three sculptors, and three different renditions of Horo. Both good and bad, here’s a comparison of the three.

 

 

 

 

 

 


image taken from Amiami.com (only one)

I think the first one that was announced and shown is this Horo from Resinya. The sculpt looks pretty amazing, especially the intricate details in the clothing. I really like the detail on the feathers on the fringes of her skirt. The braided sash looks well done too. Out of the three figures, this one definitely has the best clothing hands down. The painting job (at least on this copy of the figure) looks quite good as well. The only downside imo, not that it’s really a bad thing just a personal preference, is that her face and size look too childish. I’m used to the slender young adult Horo from the anime and to be honest, the first time I saw this figure I thought this was a child version of Horo. I was expecting to see her in her younger years in the anime because of this, but with one episode left and having never read the manga, that doesn’t seem very likely. Also, since I’m rather particular about the sculpt of the face in a figure, I think the size and shape of her mouth in relation to her nose doesn’t seem right either; A bit small and too close to the nose, which makes her chin look large. Other than that though, the detail in her clothes, the hair, and pretty much everything else on this figure looks great.

Availability: Play-Asia

 


more pics at Amiami.com

The next one that showed up was Kotobukiya’s version. Pretty much the same pose as Resinya’s version but in a more modest outfit, I think this one is just as nice. The thing that really got me with this one is her face. Out of the three I think this Horo has the best looking face, and the closest to what I’m used to. Everything seems to be in good size & position, and somehow the wide mouth works for her and looks really cute to me. Painting looks nice and smooth, and the tuft comin out of her bottom for her tail in that rear view somehow is cute to me as well. It’s almost like looking at two little girls with long hair stacked up and disguised in Horo’s clothing! lol

Availability: Play-Asia

 


more pics at Amiami.com

And lastly here we have the only cast-off Horo figure from Taki Corp., makers of the infamous “omg wtf were they smoking when they agreed to this” Sonsaku Hakufu. The figure is modeled after the illustration above which is drawn by Kuroda Kazuya, character designer for the anime version of Spice and Wolf. Soooo where should I start? If you checked out the pics of Hakufu in the link just now, it probably wouldn’t be worth it to even take off Horo’s clothes here with the quality of material used to produce her figure. Taki also has a ways to go in creating clothing that can be cast-off. Currently, they seem to make clothes with apparently visible seam lines that seem larger than the figure they’re made for. This results in making the figure look fatter or more bloated than what the figure underneath implies. As far as the face goes…eh…it’s not the greatest, and nowhere near the source illustration imo. Eyes are a bit big, nose kind of ok, mouth is shaped hideously. This figure just isn’t quite working for me like the others do. If her body were sculpted well, the cast-off feature would be a nice novelty to play around with, but looking at Hakufu’s pictures doesn’t exactly inspire any confidence…

Availability: Play-Asia

 

If I were to go with one figure, I think I’d have to go with Kotobukiya’s Horo. The deciding factor for me of course would be the face. The clothing is not as intricate, yet still attractive in its own way. For a real winner, it would be nice if we could mix and match here lol. I’d go with:

Kotobukiya’s sculpt, Resinya’s clothing, perhaps Taki’s cast-off-ability, and any pose would work.

Which one would you guys go with?


9 Responses to “[Figures] The three faces of Horo”


  1. 1 Phy
    March 16, 2008 at 4:17 am

    To be honest I agree with you on pretty much all of this. Resinya’s clothing work is excellent, and I wish more of these ホロ sculpts had them. Kotobukiya’s clothing is good, the paint job is rather solid, and her eyes are wonderful, and her hair is a light brown – probably my favorite shade. Taki Corp’s OMFGWTFWERETHEYDOING sculpt is a bit too hideous for me – fucking up the most important feature to me – the face.

    If I had to go with one – it would have to be Kotobukiya’s sculpt. The paint is rather solid, her eyes are great as well. Her clothes are satisfactory. Her hair is done really well – I’m rather happy with it. However her face puts me off a little, but it’s the best face out of the three.

  2. 2 Timotei
    March 16, 2008 at 5:17 am

    I guess I have to agree with you on this too. Pre-ordered the Koto and Resi, I thought of the Taki’s but nooooo. That’s not even worth calling a figure, as above also writes, the face is bad! While I like the clothing a bit more on the Resi, the Koto got the better face in my opinion. Throwing up a review on these 2 when they arrive.

    Koto’s version is probably the best out of these 3, it looks rather awesome. I can’t wait for it to arrive. 🙂

    // Timotei – http://hobbyjapan.blogspot.com/

  3. March 16, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    I should really start to read the manga, or at least watch the anime @_@

    The figures are nice, but I don’t have any attachment to Horo atm so I had to pass on all of them~

  4. 4 Phy
    March 19, 2008 at 10:03 am

    Or you could read the light novel, y’know.

  5. March 19, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Of the three, I still think the illustration’s Horo looks way way much better.. 😄 XP

  6. March 19, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    I think so too!
    Love Kuroda Kazuya’s illustrations ^^

  7. 7 AS
    March 20, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    They should make it where you can put the second’s face on the first’s lol, then we would have an awesome Horo figure. I guess I need to catch up on S&W since I didn’t know it was ending so soon ;p.

  8. December 18, 2008 at 9:39 am

    I love horo with all my heart I do the question who does´t love horo? . . . nothing get up so she is the wolf and god and girl most betifule in the life and nothing can do nothing a she

    forgoten ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………but………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..horo…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..¡¡¡IT´S MY!!!

  9. May 17, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a
    different web address and thought I might as well check things
    out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page repeatedly.


Leave a Reply

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


