25
Mar
08

[Figures] Shana’s waitin for your (pre)order

Seein as how I’ve been watching Shana (first season, which I’m going to be finishing up tonight then moving on to Shana II), I think maybe the timing of the preorder announcement for this figure is trying to tell me something!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I dunno what illustration, if any, this 1/6 scale figure is based off of, but she sure is pretty cute here. Sittin there with such an expression with her hand on her hip as if tryin to say “….Well? Your order…what is it?” She even comes with a pair of headphones if she doesn’t feel like listening to you lol.

I’ve always kept my eye on this figure ever since she made her appearance first in a Hobby Japan (or was it Dengeki Hobby?) preview, then at the WonderFest, so I may end up picking this one up. In addition to the apparent tsun-ness hiding her cute dere side underneath, I also like her crossed legs with the garter on one. ^^ The more I get into figure collecting the more I realize the particular qualities I like to see in them. Garters and garter belts has always been a favorite a mine, and I think crossed legs might be creeping up on me lol. They call this black color version the “Noir” version, and is the standard release.

 

There’s also this limited edition sweet “Alice Blue” version of her that’s a tiny bit more dere, but sadly it’s an Amiami online shop exclusive only, meaning unless you live in Japan, have a Japanese contact, or get a third party service to order for you, most of us probably wouldn’t be able to see one in person. 😦 Shame because I think her red eyes/red hair on pastel blue color scheme work really well together, though I’m not sure how I feel about the striped stockings. I know it’s probably really, really weird to say this, but every time I see striped stockings like that, I get the urge to throw up a little. I don’t know what it is….just some kind of reaction to something I guess my mind vehemently rejects unconsciously lol. I mean it doesn’t look that bad on Shana, so I don’t know exactly what the deal is haha. She’s got a slight blush on her face that I like a lot though (and can’t see on the Noir version), and everytime I see that face it actually makes me melt… Damn you japan exclusives! 😦 edit: I think the blush is the same on all three versions, just that I think the red in her hair in the exclusive versions tends to bring out the blush a bit more than her black hair lol.

 

The figure is sculpted by Hiroshi (so far I’ve liked all of this guy’s work), and is released by Cospa, under their figure arm Resinya. She’ll be makin a July release. Being a 1/6 scale and with the recent trend of rising figure prices, she comes in at a hefty $70 to $85 before shipping.

 

Availability: Play-Asia (Alice Blue ver.) | Hobby Search | Toys Logic

 

Update:

Saw this over at Heisei Democracy. There’ll also be a “Strawberry” color variant, limited for release at japanese online shop GEE! only. GEE! also has an alternate, lighter color Horo (think I prefer this more to the more to the regular edition deep solid color version) and a black nighty version Louise… 😦

 

Update 2:

Akiba Hobby‘s got a bit more in depth photo look of the three different color variants in a sample review (Noir | Alice Blue | Strawberry). The more I look at these three versions, the better I think it would be to own all three of them and line them up, cuz frankly I think they look great together.

 

All color variants with pictures can be found on Resinya’s site (Noir | Alice Blue | Strawberry)
Images from Amiami.com, Resinya and Akiba Hobby


9 Responses to “[Figures] Shana’s waitin for your (pre)order”


  1. March 25, 2008 at 4:42 am

    Compared to all Shana figures that have been released, this figure has unique costume. But i don’t think i’ll like her twintailed hair.

    I have Shana candy bikini from Kotobukiya, and i like her red “glowing” hair. If you want sexiness and glowing red hair, there’s still Shana “jeans” version. I forgot the manufacturer and the real name, but in that figure she wears country-like figure, with sexy pose of course.

  2. March 25, 2008 at 4:45 am

    Ooops.. Sorry, i mean country-like costume. 😛

    And it’s from Griffon (i think :P). Haha…

  3. 3 AS
    March 25, 2008 at 11:20 am

    It’s the way she looks that I don’t like, it just doesn’t seem right to me. But I must admit they got the tsundere part down ;p.

  4. March 25, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    hmmm I think it’s interesting that I’ve read so many people find one thing that they don’t seem to like in this Shana figure. Even seen some comments that said they wouldn’t have known it was Shana if they didn’t read the description. I dunno I guess I may not be as big a fan of Shana (though I just finished the first series last night and started on the second one), but she looks pretty good to me. True that I don’t think I’d imagine seeing Shana wearing that costume and in that pose since the only Shana I know is the confused and very tsun anime version, but the way I see it, if the artist has ever drawn her like that or in a similar way, it’s totally all right with me lol. To me I think it’s similar to many of the gothic & sweet lolita/nurse cosplay version of Ikkitousen figures out there, though admittedly I’ve never seen or read much of Ikkitousen.

  5. 5 leofoe
    March 26, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Hmmm nice~ Somehow i like it quite alot 🙂 its 1/6 and it is some other pose i would like to see shana posing, wearing something different. I remember the first time i saw the figurine on the web, i was thinking, shana wearing something else? i was totally caught off guard.

  6. March 27, 2008 at 6:20 am

    I don’t remember Itou Noiji ever drawing her in that pose, but oh well, I’m too lazy to check my artbooks ^^;

    I think I like the Strawberry one more than the Alice blue ^^;

    I agree about the Horo, the lighter ver looks better imo~

    Now, should I order the Shana or not…

  7. 7 fl4mingf0x
    April 2, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    i thought this was very clean compared to the other works of shana… because i think shana isn’t that sexy. she’s really cuter than sexy. this figure is more neutral. but in the anime they don’t show her wearing that many revealing clothes. she covers her skin pretty much but the figures like are really revealing.
    tgus one does show her bossy-ness in a way. yet the costume IS new. i don’t think Noizi Ito has EVER drawn this.. but i wouldn’t know.

  8. April 12, 2008 at 4:50 am

    I wouldn’t be surprised if Noizi Ito has an illustration of Shana in this outfit tucked somewhere though. I commented before that I can’t imagine Shana wearing that outfit, but I’ve searched for images of her since, and Shana’s come in many different forms before that don’t really show her flame haze nature. So I don’t see how any one outfit can be “not Shana,” since if Noizi Ito’s done similar, it’s all right by me ^^

  9. 9 Xovian
    April 12, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    There is only one picture with Shana being shown in an outfit that was even close to this one. It was not by Noizi Ito though. Was a fan-fic picture of her.

    I’ve seen a good share of art for the series, though I do admit I do not currently own all the art books. So unless it is one of the ones I haven’t seen, I’m surprised at this figure being a release and not being left as a resin kit.

    Odds are, I’ll be getting them eventually just as I have for all the other Shana variants.


Leave a Reply

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


