25
Apr
08

[Review] Alter’s Franco Il Nero, “Ptew Ptew! Gotcha!”

When I first started this blog, I originally intended for it to be an outlet for photography, which I’d just started learning about, and anime figures, also which I’d just started collecting. Over the course of the months though, I haven’t done nearly as much figure photography as I’d wanted to. Hopefully though, this’ll start getting me back into things going into the future (you don’t have my word on that lol)! So anyway, finally after months of waiting, one of my very first figure preorders finally makes her way into my hands!

The quote in the title is from Family Guy’s Blue Harvest Star Wars special, in case you were wondering why it’s “Ptew Ptew” and not the more appropriate “Bang Bang” lol

 

 

The figure here today is a character from an erogame made by Nitroplus called 「Zoku ・Satsuriko no Jango」. Her (nick)name is “Franco Il Nero” (aka in Japanese as “Kuro no Franco,” or “Franco the Black”). The game is supposed to be some throwback to a genre of movies called the “spaghetti western.” To be honest I really don’t have much of an idea what a spaghetti western is and I’ve never played the game, so I don’t know much of the story or the characters. However, what I do know is that the characters in the game were designed and illustrated by admired artist Niθ and that the CGs are very hot and sexy.

I believe Franco was originally scheduled to be released in February, but was pushed back month after month into April. I noticed in early April that Amiami and figure producer Alter‘s own webpage had changed its release status to something along the lines of “to be determined.” Fortunately, they determined shortly after that she will be on track for an April release. I’d heard that the reason for the delay was because of some kink in the production model that needed to be hammered out. Fast forward to today and here we are! I’m very glad they took the time to make things right, because this figure is pretty dang incredible.

 

The pose is a little exaggerated compared to the original illustration and her face has a different expression, but the level of detail in recreating the pose is all there. Her clothes, her hair, the flying straps…all were done amazingly well thanks to sculptor Tanaka☆Senu.

 

I was actually pretty surprised that it didn’t take much to make Franco “float” in the air. See that clear stick coming out of her back there? Yup that’s all that’s holding her up. I looked at the size of the pegs on the ends of the stick and kept thinking “no way…that’s it?” And well…yup that’s it. The pegs may have been kind of small, but they do ram in a good few millimeters into Franco’s back and into the base, so it’s pretty secure. Simple balance and physics I guess, but still impressive to see on a figure lol. I have no idea what the brick wall base is made out of, but it’s got some good heft to it, so it’ll keep Franco up easily.

 

She’s got a bit of a dirty booty comin out of the box and I didn’t bother to clean her up lol. Her panties look a bit wedged up in there… ^^

 

I’d read that the first figure from Satsuriko no Jango, Donne Anonime (aka in Japanese as “Namae no Nai Onna”, or “Woman without a name”) came with surprise soft, squeezable boobs (it wasn’t advertised in the release details I guess). Was wondering if future girls from the game would be made the same way, or in the case with Franco some soft butt cheeks. As it turns out though, Franco is not squeezable anywhere and she’s got herself some buns of steel (or pvc).

 

 

So like I said before, I think this figure is incredibly made, and I’m very glad that I got her. She’s got the most dynamic pose in a figure that I’ve ever seen (I mean c’mon…at the right angle she looks like she’s really jumping back!), and the detail in her hair and clothing are amazing. Dunno if you can see in the shots above, but the tassel like strips coming off the fore-sleeve of her jacket are on her left arm too, where it’s very cramped between her chest and her legs. It must have been one hell of a time trying to sculpt that part! With the figure being produced by Alter, the quality of the paint job and the figure production itself are quite good as well. I don’t see any glaring defects on my copy (Shingo at HD also reviewed his Franco, and she seemed to have a little chip on her left butt cheek. Sorry man!).

If I had to complain about something, I’d say that I’m not sure if I like the way her mouth and chin converge down into such a sharp point. It’s a pretty minor gripe though.

 

I don’t have Donne Anonime, but I may plan on picking her up in the future. I may try to pick up either the Alter version or if possible, the very impressive Toranoana version which has still yet to be revealed in color (or any release details for that matter). I’ve got the third main female cast member in the game Lily Salvatana preordered though, and am very much looking forward to getting her (she’s actually my favorite of the three, just based on character design lol).

 

Figure stats:
Name: Franco Il Nero (also Kuro no Franco in japanese)
Series: Zoku ・Satsuriko no Jango (Nitroplus)
Maker: Alter
Sculptor: Tanaka☆Senu
Scale: 1/8
Release: mid April, 2008

Availability: Play-Asia | Hobby Search | Toys Logic | Kid Nemo

 

Update:
Insecure Zone has a review of the Nitroplus Direct online store limited version of Franco with striped white/blue panties (cute), a scarf that extends and flows underneath her and is kind of transparent (neat), and a much better face that I very much prefer over the regular edition ( aw T_T )


7 Responses to “[Review] Alter’s Franco Il Nero, “Ptew Ptew! Gotcha!””


  1. April 25, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Nice review and photoshoots there 🙂
    Need to pass on her, as i need to save monies for maids >_<

  2. 2 schau
    April 28, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Hey there, nice pictures! I’ve been very interested in this figure since I purchased ms. Nobody a while ago. I read Shingo’s review at Heisei Democracy, which nearly threw me off this figure altogether due to the damage on her butt, so I’m glad it’s turned out ok.

    BTW, I found my way here from Toyslogic (my username is samanosuke). If you have time, please check out my blog. Cheers!

  3. April 28, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    >> e-jump
    I saw you recently got your Rider maid…nice one ^^ I like Rider myself and contemplated whether or not to pick her up. Ended up not….must have more goth loli in my own collection 😛
    Holdin out for if/when the next Fate trio is announced eh? Ilya, Sakura, Caster? lol I’d like to see a Caster maid ^^

    >> schau
    Hey! Glad to see you’re cruisin around those forums regularly. There are some really nice people around there. Be sure to visit my blog every now and then though lol.

  4. April 30, 2008 at 6:11 am

    Alter’s Django girls are definitely among the best figures out this year ^^ Thanks for sharing these pics, her awesome pose makes for some really interesting angles (even the non-ecchi ones XD).

  5. April 30, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    that sucks that you weren’t able to get her 😦 Hopefully she’ll come back in stock sometime 😛
    In the meantime I suppose you can look forward to the third Jango girl Lily Salvatana ^^

  6. 6 AS
    May 2, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    The angle shots are awesome xD. At least yours didn’t come with paint on her shoes, poor lu-k had paint on his…

  7. May 2, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Thanks! ^^ I like to get in weird positions to take pics like that 😛 But it makes me kind of tired and I can’t hold the camera steady, so I had to throw out a lot of shots 😦

    It seems a lot of people have been getting issues with their Franco! 😦 I guess I’m lucky to just have her dirty booty lol


Leave a Reply

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories


