15
May
08

[Movies] First look at Dragonball live action movie

HHMMMMMmmmm. Well personally I actually think the people they cast look ok lol. I’m sure most people have already heard that there will be a Hollywood live action version of Dragonball…maybe. It will be directed by James Wong and feature a mix of asian and american actors. Saw it when I was checking Superhero Hype for Dark Knight news.

 

 

 

 

 

Goku seems like maybe he should be a bit bulkier as an adult (or maybe teen? I believe this will be based on Dragonball and not Z. Or maybe it will incorporate a tiny bit of Z. I’m sure nowadays when somebody hears “Dragonball,” they instantly think of all the aliens and super saiyan stuff), but maybe at least he will be really fit lol. Actually, after thinking about it, I’m glad he’s not bulky, cuz then I don’t think I’d be able to take it seriously. These scans are from the latest japanese issue of Weekly Young Jump.

 


closer look at Goku and Bulma

 

Pictured are Justin Chatwin as Goku, Emmy Rossum as Bulma, and Chow Yun Fat as Master Roshi. I see they’ve got a bit of anime influence goin on Goku’s hair department. I think they did an interesting job adapting Bulma’s look for Emma. Perhaps not quite the anime style (I think), but at least she looks quite pretty in my opinion lol.

 

Other cast members in the film are:
James Marsters as Piccolo (hm…Spike and Brainiac as a green pointy eared alien? I’m curious to see how they’ll adapt Piccolo for the big screen)
Jamie Chung as Chichi (yes she was the cast member from MTV’s Real World San Diego. I think my brother met her before when he worked at Cingular in that area before lol. She seems to have since guest spotted in several TV shows and her film career seems to be blossoming.)
Joon Park as Yamcha
Randall Duk Kim as Grandpa Gohan
Tamura Eriko as Mai (yay a japanese person lol. Played the blacksmith’s daughter in Heroes season 2 if any of you kept up with that. Don’t know who Mai is though)

 

I know there are a lot of people out there who are crying that the actors should be japanese or at least asian, but I think people should keep in mind that although the original work is in japanese and may perhaps contain japanese influences, the characters themselves are not necessarily japanese. Goku technically is an alien though he is named by a japanese man. Later he turns into a blond haired muscle man, so if people want to get racially technical, he is an alien being that resembles both an asian and a caucasian? lol

Anyway, people should be glad that at least they got the characters with asian sounding names cast as asians lol.


7 Responses to “[Movies] First look at Dragonball live action movie”


  1. May 16, 2008 at 6:44 am

    how come I have a feeling this movie will fail?

  2. May 21, 2008 at 4:58 am

    that’s ok I’m just in it for the effects lol. It should be at least entertaining! (well that’s the hope anyway lol)

  3. 3 tom
    July 8, 2008 at 8:30 am

    I’m scared that it will ruin the whole franchise. And that the franchise will calapse.

  4. July 12, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Nah Guys This Movie Will Be So Badazz Trust Me.

  5. 5 asdasdasdasd
    July 16, 2008 at 3:17 am

    i think goku’s hair stuffs every thing up and he should more asian

  6. 6 CyberFenix000
    September 10, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    i already watched the movie (i hav connection, so dont ask me how) and in my personal opinion, it is ok… think about a OVA dragonball and the whole scenes involved a visual that of 300 (different in the sense that the dragonball movie has color and a “better” audio)

  7. 7 True Saiyajinn
    November 11, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    I think this movie will fail!!! Ive watched dragonball since i was a kid, before it was brought to america, I couldnt even watch the american version, from the horrible voice actors and the change of music, it just wasnt the same. Now they cast a white actor to play as goku, which is true that goku is an alien but i would assume they would cast a asian actor considering the original dragonball story was japanese and based off of a chinese character the monkey king(named goku). I think true dragonball fans will be disappointed in this movie. Also if the characters actually looked like the characters in the series then it would be more appealing, the actor playing goku doesnt even have the signature hair, only character that looks close to it is Piccolo. I am in no way racist i just believe the character should be asian.


Leave a Reply

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories


