19
Jul
08

[Review] The Steel Princess Yuumil

My first Queen’s blade figure finally arrives 😛 This is the R-2 repaint of the Steel Princess Yuumil, sportin a serious darker color scheme with blacks, dark purples, and red eyes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yuumiru is the daughter of a Dwarf king from “Steel Mountain” (orig. 「鋼鉄山」), a continent known for being a leader in the world for mining iron ore and producing weapons for the past 50 years. Recently, other mines around the world have started making a name for themselves by mass producing cheap iron parts and items, which is putting a strain on the business of the denizens on Steel Mountain. Yuumiru, who has been named the successor of the Dwarf king and the next in line (or already is?) to run the iron business, wants to prove to the world that the weapons her home makes is the best in the world, so she goes and enters the Queen’s Blade tournament with that big axe, big gauntlet, and the big spikes on those leggings of hers.

That’s pretty much the gist of her background. It’s a bit of a weird story, but hey I don’t play the game…I’m just in it waiting for the next hot girls to come out lol.

 

Megahouse Excellent Model CORE: Queen’s Blade Steel Princess Yuumil R-2
Maker:
Megahouse
Sculptor: Kibayashi Norio
Scale: 1/8 (she stands roughly 16-17cm tall)
Release: Late June 2008
Character created by: Mibu Natsuki

Availability: Play-Asia | HobbySearch | ToysLogic | KidNemo

 

She’s balanced enough to be able to stand her up without the base, so I took all these pictures without it. If you are curious though, it’s kind of a pearlescent, slightly hot pink colored elongated base with the Queen’s Blade logo embossed in it. I love the slightly Alice in wonderland/goth loli look of her outfit. I enjoy her backside quite a bit. (That sounded kinda weird…)

 

One thing I really like about her is her hair. I love the twirls she’s got hangin in the back of her head (minus the mold seams). I’m sure there’s a word for those coils of hair, but I don’t know what it is. Being a dwarf, I’m glad she’s not thick or have facial hair :O (my only perception of dwarves really coming from WoW and LOTR lol). She’s got some dangerous shoes, so if you’re a guy, you may not want to mention that stereotype right in her face. If you’re a girl…I guess it depends on how kinky you are…

 

The white clothing piece covering her dfc slips right off, but is secure enough when in place that I thought it was held in by magnets at first (I still can’t really tell since it’s such a perfect fit). She also detaches at the waist so you can remove her skirt, as you can see below, and also have access to removing her panties, which is clasped together on her left hip (you can kind of see it in the upskirt shot) and requires the detachment of her right leg for you to…slip them off yourself.

 

I refrained from taking any shots with her loli lady bits cuz I wanted to keep all the photos together, and photobucket would definitely not allow those pics to be uploaded lol. Her panties are on pretty loosely though, and looks a bit weird when looking at her from the front (looks like they’re slipping off a bit…too much), but I don’t display her with her skirt off anyway. The ribbons coming from the panties look nice twirling around her legs underneath the skirt.

 

At first when I got her, I was a bit underwhelmed (or maybe just tinges of buyer’s remorse lol), but now seeing her on display on my shelf in front of my door, she actually looks really cool everytime I enter my room and see her there. So all in all, I’m quite happy with her now. She won’t be alone for long, as my second Queen’s series character will be Queen’s Gate Alice, who also happens to be a loli (not really intentional to be collecting only loli Queen’s characters). She will probably have a spot next to Yuumil on my shelf, and will keep her company talking about boobless things together…

 

Some shooting notes:
Shot with: Canon Digital Rebel XT + Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8

I know the background in the pics aren’t pure white (which is what I was trying to go for -_-), and some of them are even different from each other due to type of metering used and lack of mad photo editing skills, but I was able to mess around with them enough to the point of being somewhat satisfied with the results. So far every photo session I’ve done has been in a different location with different lighting setups, and I still haven’t found that one setup that will get me some pro looking results like so many other good shooters out there (proof that a pretty good camera still sucks in the hands of a guy who doesn’t quite know what he’s doing still lol), so I’m still playing around with things. I don’t take pics and mess around with these things nearly as much as I should be, so it’s still taking me some time lol. This particular one was done with two 60w desklamps. This was also the first time I’ve ever tried playing around with the pop up flash on the camera, which I’ve found is very very useful lol.


8 Responses to “[Review] The Steel Princess Yuumil”


  1. 1 KYPMbangi
    July 19, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Cool, now I’m considering of getting her.

  2. July 19, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Nice shoot. And that is one big axe.

  3. July 19, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    haha yea it sure is. She’s a dwarf though I think she should be stronger than she looks lol.

  4. July 20, 2008 at 8:03 am

    She’s a dwarf so that’s mean she’s already an adult, but that doesn’t deny the fact that she’s a loli. A loli with big weapon, that’s kinda cool.

    Anyway for the lighting, don’t try white background if you don’t have at least 5 white desk lamps. If you want to get perfect result, get an external flash (Canon Speedlite 580EX II). It’s worth the result.

  5. 5 NegativeZero
    July 20, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Hello (1st Posting)

    That is your first Queens Blade?!

    Where have you been? What have you been thinking? What have you been doing?

    BTW, Great pick up.

  6. July 20, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    >>sonic_ver2
    Thanks for the tips. I also try to work with just the space I have. One of the lamps I use is actually an extra on a pillar floor lamp that’s right next to where I set up for this shoot, so that one has very limited movement. I managed the white background with Nida using 3 lamps, including that one on the floor lamp, but using a different setup. That one was low to the ground though and tired me out really easily lol. I’ve just gotta keep playing around I guess.

    >>NegativeZero
    haha yup my first. I’d thought about getting others before this dark Yuumil, like Echidna or Cattleya, but either they were already really hard to find unless I wanted to pay out the ass for it, or I gave it some more thought and figured that one figure with monster tits wouldn’t sit well with people who see my display lol.

  7. 7 AS
    July 21, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    I love the axe xD. You wouldn’t expect her to wield something that big ^^. I like the detail on the skirt and boots.


Leave a Reply

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories


