08
Aug
08

[Cherry Girls] Comiket 74 goodies announced

 

I originally wasn’t going to do a post on this since how many people reading this translation of Cherry Girls will be heading to C74 anyway? But in the end (on the eve before the next story update), I just decided what the heck. It might clue some hardcore fans in who love to collect exclusives via Yahoo Japan or something, and it’ll only take a few minutes. Soooo heeeere we go!

 

 

 

So first off, the Comic Market 74 will be taking place on August 15 – 17. Cherry Girls related goodies from Hobby Japan will be:

 


32-page special fanbook titled, “Here are the Cherry Girls!” for 1000yen (totally want T_T)
I think it’ll contain a story and comic based around the brothers heading off to Comiket. What’ll they wear I wonder? Will an unexpected side of Tomo come out I wonder? Those questions will only be answered by those who get to peek inside the book…

The illustrations will also be of a bit higher level of ecchiness (they say this by mentioning that the all important, identifying “bulge” will make more frequent appearances than what we’ve seen week after week, if any lol). Original clothing concepts for the characters will also be included.

There will be a general release after the Comiket as well from Hobby Japan’s online shop, with an extra 1000yen price tagged onto it for shipping charges. Unfortunately, I doubt they ship overseas, so interested people will most likely have to go through a proxy service, which would put the book at nearly $40 USD (guessing) or probably more after shipping and commission fees… T_T Could pick up a nice 100+ page artbook for that price…

 

A B2 sized wallscroll for 3000yen.

 

Free postcards will be handed out to visitors of the Hobby Japan booth. There will be 5 kinds of postcards that’ll be given out randomly. I’m guessing the five are illustrations of each of the four brothers and one as a group…

 

Japanese cosplay costume maker Cosmode is also planning to make and sell maid costumes based on the outfits that the Cherry Girls wear. Two people will be dressed as Nao and Yuki will be handing out the postcards (hope they aren’t actually guys lol…).

Sizes will be made for both guys and girls, so just because the characters are male, doesn’t mean that the cosplayers have to be lol. I wonder if this will spark a trend for a real Cherry Girls maid cafe (again hopefully with girls instead of guys lol)?

 

 

Of course the Hobby Japan booth won’t have only Cherry Girls stuff. Queen’s Blade, Mari-tan, and some other stuff will be present with some goodies including posters, tshirts, figures, special figure items, some patch things, and other miscellaneous items and probably friendly people to meet.

 

 

For Cherry Girls specific C74 items: here
For all of Hobby Japan’s C74 goodies: here


10 Responses to “[Cherry Girls] Comiket 74 goodies announced”


  1. 1 alice
    August 8, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Two people will be dressed as Nao and Yuki will be handing out the postcards (hope they aren’t actually guys lol…).

    Hopefully they are T_T

  2. 2 Sarumanu
    August 8, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    It’d be great if they were.
    Japan has that bustling crossdressing community.

    I totally want that fanbook.

  3. August 8, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    I’m not into real life crossdressing myself, but I enjoy looking at it in illustrations. Is that weird? lol

    I think the main thing about it is that the illustrations/manga *cough shota cough* that I do enjoy are drawn with a blatant sense of wanting to attract males by drawing them cute and girly (huzzah Kasukabe Akira) most of the time (which, just like the introduction to Cherry Girls says: “There’s no way such cute girls could be guys? There’s no way such cute girls could even exist!” Whereas yaoi is meant to attract females by drawing them tall, handsome and very masculine looking), and even making them act girly (huzzah Cherry Girls). It’s an odd thing, but ultimately I think my progression to the type of shota I read stemmed from an interest in futanari material, which somehow came from straight material.

    lol look at me trying to explain my position

  4. 4 tibitekutan
    August 11, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    i could hope it’s the hibaritei guys handling the handouts

    BY THEN IT’S ALL GOOD MANG

  5. August 12, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    hahah I just looked up Hibaritei. Quite interesting I didn’t know they already had such a place like this haha. I wonder if they are any match for the Cherry Girls in terms of making customers weak at the knees? lol

  6. August 14, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Some of the “girls” are actually VERY passable, so IMO they’d be great for promoting the series (screw those punks who, often sight unforeseen, try to dismiss them with “OMG HURRHURR THEY NOT AS KAWAIIEST AS GACKIE-SAMAA ^____^^”). They’re known for their unorthodox fan-servicey antics too; I wouldn’t be surprised if some of the Cherry Girls’ predicaments were inspired by the stuff that fly around Hibaritei’s outings.

    Come to think of it, the next time I visit Japan again I’m making sure to reserve a day to meet them. I’ll be damned if I don’t get my copy of オンナノコになりたい〜コスプレ編〜 signed by them. orz

    Thanks for translating the Cherry Girls content by the way! I’ve known this series since the beginning, but only now just discovered that someone was translating them :DDDDDD

  7. August 14, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    Haha well it’d be definitely interesting to see who turns out at the booth. I’m sure Hobby-Channel or maybe some other sites that might be covering the event will have some shots of who’s there lol. What are those “Onna no ko ni naritai” books? Are they actual mangas, or just kind of a how-to guide on x-dressing? I’ve only seen the covers for some of them so that’s about all I know.

    and you’re welcome!

  8. August 21, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    :twitch: …. :twitch: ….no….no thank you….

  9. August 21, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    hahah love the reaction lol

  10. 10 Oru
    August 16, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    SO THAT’S THE NAME OF IT!
    Damn, I’ve been drooling all over this ever since I saw some images around online and found some more over samples of WAai (Boys in Skirts).

    ~~


Leave a comment


August 2008
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories