13
Aug
08

[Review] Shana Twins want to take your order (or not)

Got these twins just over the weekend, and they make my first Shana(s) and first repaint! Just couldn’t decide which one I liked better, so I ended up with both -_- Damned is the power of repaints!! I hope this doesn’t become a trend, cuz that would just become a tremendous sink for me lol. Only reason I got both of them this time is because Shana actually appears with dark hair and red hair.

 

 

 

 

 

Resinya Shakugan no Shana II: Waitress Shana (noir & alice blue versions)
Maker:
Resinya / Cospa
Sculptor: Hiroshi (of Sakura Zensen)
Scale: 1/6 (roughly 24cm tall sitting on stool)
Release: Late July/early August 2008
Character designed by: Itou Noizi

Availability:
Play-Asia (noir version | alice blue version)
HobbySearch (noir version)
HLJ (noir version)
ToysLogic (noir version)

 

I’ve read many comments that say this Shana is characteristically un-Shana. If they hadn’t been told that it was Shana, they would have never known it seems. I agree to some degree in that I don’t think Shana would wear an outfit like that, and actually there is no illustration that depicts her in this type of clothing. The closest thing I’ve come across is this dvd cover (or insert) of Shakugan no Shana II vol. IV:


image found on moe.imouto.org

Another thing besides clothing that people probably noticed is that she’s not “Shana-sized.” That’s definitely apparent with one look at her, but I think her “tsun” expression and hair are what make her stand out as Shana, and I can see that in her. When she’s got her headphones on you can still imagine somebody trying to get her attention to order, and she just responds with a more mature “urusai na…” instead of her usual “urusai!” x3. If anything, I’ve come to think that this is what Shana would be like as a rebellious teenager lol.

The Noir version (purple background below) is the regular release edition, and the Alice Blue (light blue background) version is an Amiami japanese online shop limited exclusive. As shown above though, Play-Asia was able to get some in some way or another.

 





Each Shana comes with a tray, headphones, and stool.



I like the garter and her bare upper back…^^ She’s also got a nice round bottom.


Her twintails are actually connected by ball joints, so you can rotate her pigtails around in whichever orientation you want ^^. I think they should have made some version of her have a single ponytail too. I love ponytails, and I think it would have looked very sweet on her.



Bonta not included…


The highlights in her hair on both versions look pretty and nicely painted.




What I didn’t know before is that her skirt can be taken off! She detaches at the waist, and you gotta really squeeze out that skirt since it’s one piece. Striped blue panties… ^^


and here they are sitting together with a serving of small animal things.

 

She’s not bad. The Alice Blue version Shana doesn’t quite have her hair color down, but I think that was deliberate to try to stick with the color palette used for this version. Her hair is more ….I would say watermelon red, rather than her signature flame haze red/orange. There is a third repaint version of her, the “Strawberry” version which is a Gee! Store japanese shop exclusive. The hair on that version is more characteristic of the Flame Haze we all know. I ended up with the Alice Blue version because the price was cheaper and the Strawberry version’s paint design is too similar to her Noir version (basically a lighter version of noir. At least Alice Blue has the stripes lol).

A few things that kinda bugged me about her though: I think her head might be a bit too big for her body. Doesn’t quite look that way looking from a short distance, but when you get up close, it looks like her face/head are pretty dang wide. Compared to my two other 1/6 figures, Shana’s head is just huge, with most of the hugeness coming from her eyes and above. It’s probably got to do with making room for the more “anime styled” face I guess, but it’s just something that hangs around in the back of my head lol. That and if you look at her from the side, her bangs and face look pretty flat. A little more curvature around the nose/eyes/forehead might not have been a bad idea.

Another thing that kinda bugs me is that the seat and tray are pretty damn slick (as in slippery). It’s very hard to keep her seated on the seat, and also keeping the tray on her hand. Maybe it’s just me with my unsteady hands, but I had some trouble here and there trying to get Bonta and the white cat to sit on the tray and her hand without slipping off. Sometimes while I was spinning the stool around to get some shots from different sides, she would kinda slip out of place and end up sitting pretty unevenly, making her unstable on the stool. I guess if I don’t touch her for awhile, she’ll kinda stick in place like it seems some of my other figures have done, but it’s just annoying when you move her around.

The headphones are a nice addition, but I don’t think they look so great. They don’t fit completely around the ear, and they are angled very slightly in the center of the headband, for what reason I don’t really know. If they were more smoothly rounded and covered the ears more completely, they might have looked excellent, but as they are, I think they just look “good”.

 

Annoyances aside, the paint is pretty well done and aside from some mold lines here and there, they are pretty solid. I thought it was pretty cool that her twintails could be swung around behind her on those balljoints. They can’t be positioned in any which way you want, but at least you can spin them around where they are connected, and I think that’s cool enough. In the end, I think for the most part they are a couple of really nice figures.

 

Note to self: Shoot more pics from the figure’s right side next time. I guess the allure of her garter completely took me over this time around. lol


16 Responses to “[Review] Shana Twins want to take your order (or not)”


  1. August 14, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    I might buy this figure because of her clothes, i think. Shana in twintail and maid dress is really something else, no wonder people don’t recognize her as Shana.

    As for me, maybe i’ll pick the black one, since i hate striped stocking and panties.

  2. August 14, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    At first I thought I wouldn’t like the striped stockings either. In fact I think i said in some other post (probably related to this) that i thought the sight of striped stockings kind of made me want to throw up a little lol. But ater seeing her in person, I think I like the alice blue version a bit more, since it’s got that extra little bit of flair, and I like the pastel colors. The original is also a good choice though since I like looking at the smooth legs as well (like my Mirei lol). Striped panties aren’t an issue since I’ve always been a fan of those 😛 Striped panties but not so much striped stockings. Very odd. lol

  3. August 15, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Noizi Ito designed characters have huge freaking heads that are bigger than their other scale mates. I might pick this up after all.

  4. August 17, 2008 at 3:01 am

    yea they’re probably a little less than 1.5x the size of similarly scaled friends. Not overly huge, but just enough to notice haha. Doesn’t seem other Shana figures have heads that seem a bit big though…none that I’ve seen anyway.

  5. August 17, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    she looks hot, I would like to own the black one because the hair of the blue is not calling my attention.

  6. August 17, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    great pictures! the upside down picture made me lol
    are you able to swap their other items around? (just curious)

  7. August 17, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    they don’t have any swappable items really. She comes with just the tray, headphones, and the stool. I suppose could switch their skirts if I wanted to 😛 But all in all those four are the only separate/removable parts.

  8. August 21, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Alice-version for me!!!
    Striped-pantsu for the win!!! And blue and white stripe at that!! Just like Lucchini!!

  9. August 21, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Yes!! Lucchini-chan~~ Not quite as low as hers though… lol

    I voted for her (in my mind) when DC posted that Strike Witches panties survey thing from akibablog lol

  10. August 28, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    I just checked your pics out so im a lil but late for the train…^^
    I can understand that you couldnt decide between bot since both have some nice distinct features.
    Id would have taken a Shana with striped stocking + pantsu and the rest from the alternate Version.

    On a Sidenote:
    Lucchinini = Win

  11. August 28, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    haha hope you weren’t late for work or anything. “Sorry sir I uh…saw some striped panties on the way here!” But anyway, yea I thought about it for the longest time before finally making the plunge lol. There were just things on both figures that I liked. I think this will probably be my first and last set of repaint twins…probably lol

    The way you wrote out her name reminds me of Lucchini + panini sandwich….mmmm Lucchini sandwich :D~

  12. September 6, 2008 at 10:34 am

    I’m liking that Alice version a lot. It’s nice to see the comparisons too, overall a good review and photoshoot 😀

  13. 13 Freezeart
    September 6, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I own the Noir Version, And yes the chair thing, and the tray, are very hard to put on the right place, I’m really not confident at all with the chair, Also I knew you could strip her skirt off, But I JUST CAN’T!!, It would be hard to you to show how do you strip her? XD… Thanks a Lot!! =]!

  14. September 22, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    >>Freezeart
    haha sorry don’t even know if you’ll come back and check this… but anyway, taking the skirt off is kinda tough, since it’s form fitted quite well. You just gotta get a good grip on it and kind of slide it off back and forth, hoping that some of the paint doesn’t rub off lol. The skirt material is flexible too, so once you get it partly off, you can squeeze it around a little bit to try to get it to come off a little easier. Putting it back on is the same thing, though a little easier since once you kinda force it in, it’ll pop right into place. Good luck with that!

  15. 15 Freezeart
    May 17, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    HEh! Just to let you know
    I DID come back to check your reply! Thank you very much, it really helped me out ^^!
    Wow, it’s been a while ~

    Thank you once again ^^!


Leave a comment


August 2008
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories