01
Oct
08

[Anime] Code Geass R2 ending and comic

So, what’d you all think of the ending to Code Geass R2? A lot of people seem to be clamoring for a “Lelouch is alive and boning C.C. all day long living a happy life with C.C.” ending (which I think seems to be the more rabid fanbase… >.> lol), but personally I think that he really took one for the world, and that is not Lelouch driving the cart at the end. He’d already made his resolve to sacrifice himself when he devised the Zero Requiem with Suzaku, C.C., and probably Orange, and Lelouch is the kind of guy that when he sets a goal, he goes for it (duh…he was Emperor of Britannia and pretty much the freakin world). He doesn’t seem like the kind of guy to take the “Haha suckers I win in the end” way out after what he’s been through to have his cake and eat it too. *points at Schneizel*

To have him be alive at the end for me kinda cheapens the events that preceded it; The entire emotional realization from key characters that no, he wasn’t the megalomaniac emperor everybody thinks he is, but the savior of the world.


This image I put together of Nunnally really gets to me… not because it’s loli in chains (who is really super skinny ><), but because of what happens right after she has that look T_T

 

Anyway, that’s my personal view on it. I guess the ending was made for this kind of speculation to be raised across the net. Everybody has their views on it, and it doesn’t seem like any amount of persuading is working on anybody from either side (I’ve already been snapped at by the other camp at the HongFire forums, when I was just sayin something about it >.>). There is the thing with Nunnally being able to see Lelouch’s memories, thus him having the Code and reviving at some later point in time, which looks suspicious for my case, but let’s just say…the Code works in mysterious ways… >.>

 

ANYWAY, the point of this post was that a member from HongFire’s CGR2 discussion thread (thanks, S&T) posted this single comic page in japanese. Dunno where he got it from, but for fans of the Lelouch-is-alive ending, this is for you. I translated it so it can give you guys that warm fuzzy feeling from the ending you’ve been looking for lol. The Lelouch-is-dead camp doesn’t need anything to support it, because that’s what happened ;P (lol just kidding…*hides*)


13 Responses to “[Anime] Code Geass R2 ending and comic”


  1. October 3, 2008 at 2:23 am

    edited a text bubble in the comic cuz I realized I sorta translated it a bit differently…

  2. 2 Cheese
    January 27, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    I think they ended it that way so anyone can decide how they want it ended

    If you want Lelouch alive, he alive,

    if you’d rather him dead hes dead

  3. 3 yee
    May 8, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    THATS A GOOD ENDING 😀 Suzaku needs advice hehe

  4. June 8, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    i saw the ending epsodes tear

  5. June 8, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    by tear i meen cry

  6. June 8, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    that waz amazing that nunnely broke her fathers geass

  7. 7 noneofyourbuisnesswhatmynameis
    June 11, 2009 at 2:13 am

    Lelouch is dead. He had nobody to take the code from: C.C. is still alive, and when he “killed” the emperor he obviously didn’t take his since he still used his geass afterwards.
    It’s not that i want him to be dead, it just doesn’t make logical sense for him to have survived.

  8. June 20, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    I dont like the ending in a way that i like it..!!

    the f*** background song makes me feel saD!!

    Why does he need to die?

    why not live with c.c and just pretend that he is dead!!

    I dont like sad endings! just the same with full metal alchemist!

    pu**

  9. 9 Horanax
    June 24, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    I have to say this cause I see a lot of people who agree with me that Lelouch is alive and driving the cab but no real reasoning, at least out of the posts I have read.

    First of all I believe he is alive because I believe that he has taken on the role of an immortal from CC. The reasons for this I will state later first I am going to state why I say this is possible for those that have forgotten. Lelouch’s father the Emperor of Britania took by desire the power of immortality from VV, upon doing so he seemingly lost the power of Geass but gained immortality. This is consistant with when CC gained the power immortality she lost her Geass of forced love. Lelouch had already reached a state of completed Geass where both eyes became active when he used his Geass to convince the subconcious of humanity to refuse his father’s plan. This so far just means that there is the possibility not proof that Lelouch is an immortal.

    My reasoning for him being an immortal is that I believe he did two things while dying that are only possible by the immortals who control Geass. The first were his parting words to Suzaku. I believe that they can be taken two ways, parting words to a friend who had to kill his own friend. Or how I believe they were given as terms of a contract, I believe that they were the formation of a contract between Lelouch and Suzaku where Lelouch gave him a Geass. The second event during his death was when Nunnaly touched his hand. She sees images of Lelouch and Suzaku planning this end to war. This could be the producers trying to remind the viewer what has happened in the past but any viewer that didn’t remember what he was doing is blind anyway. I believe this was use of the power that CC had where she could through touch view or allow to be viewed the memories of those in contact, similar to the event in the early part of the series when she stalled Suzaku then Lelouch touched her and saw her memories.

    This isn’t an open and shut case but I choose to believe based on that information that Lelouch is alive and well. Doesn’t mean that I wish to see them continue it cause the series had a good ending, but just my views on his condition at the end.

    PS. For the comment made in this thread that he couldn’t be immortal since CC is still alive you are wrong, sorry. Remember the episode where VV lost immortality and died it wasn’t the loss of immortality but all the wounds she had causing her to bleed to death. During the series CC even mentioned to the Emperor that he “let his brother die” not killed his brother, the difference was between the removal of Geass making him mortal to die from blood loss and the removal of Geass being responsible for his death.

  10. 10 brightenUpUrday
    August 24, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    really great story after all

    whether Lelouch live or die

    but a really sad ending

    making me cry all day long

    TWO THUMBS UP for the Autor!!

  11. 11 Aeon
    September 18, 2009 at 9:33 am

    I completely and fully agree with you, my dear Horanax. my thoughts excatly.

  12. 12 Kenny
    September 22, 2009 at 8:51 am

    @Horanaz
    When Nunnaly touched Lelouche’s hand and realized what he had done, I saw it as her natural ability to tell when people were lying. When she touched his hand she realized that both him and Suzaku were lying to the whole world this entire time and weren’t actually evil.

  13. May 17, 2013 at 7:23 am

    You’ve made some decent points there. I looked on the web for more info about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this website.


Leave a comment


October 2008
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories